About

Who is Sonya?

Sonya is the first French platform which is entirely dedicated to audio fiction podcasts.
Sonya is an independant studio of sound creation and production.

Sonya creates immersive and colorful contents, with a cinematographic approach in the sound treatment and original musical creations.
Sonya deploys a whole world of sound, sensitive and plural, in which to dive and sharpen our imaginations.
Sonya is made for adults, teenagers and children.

Sonya brings together artists and professionals, mainly from the North East of France, working in the fields of sound creation, writing, radio, theater, visual arts, music, journalism and digital cultures.
Sonya is part of a lively, local economy driven by local partnerships and the desire to promote a territory, its history and its inhabitants.
Sonya travels through the public space, probes it and gives it back during events for and with the public: sound walks, listening sessions, meetings, workshops, etc.

Why fiction?

Although the podcast format is booming, fiction remains an underdeveloped genre in France.

Sonya aims to develop the audio fiction podcast by focusing on the inventiveness of productions, the diversity of collaborations, the will to experiment and the renewal of writing. The recordings take place, as often as possible, in real conditions and not in a studio. Often, the productions are based on existing facts and resonate with our imaginations. Fiction is inspired by and plays with reality, by questioning it, teasing it, shaking it up, sublimating it.

Upcoming projects

Here are some examples of upcoming creations (non-exhaustive list):

  • Here around

    A sound fiction of about 20 minutes published regularly, in the form of a single program or mini-podcast.
    The objective is to build a work process involving the various members of Sonya on a regular basis: authors, actors, musicians, designers, researchers, directors, etc.
    Conceived in the form of a local and moving laboratory, this program aims to be a place of collective experimentation, of research into new writing, of prospective narration, of questioning the world and its deepest issues.

Original creations:

  • My Evil Double

    by Cécilia Gouttes and Paul Frican

    After an accident at work, Louise meets a young woman who looks strangely like her on a dating website. Little by little, this person disturbs Louise's reality and seems to take her place, "succeeding" in her place... Louise accepts it... to what extent?

  • Téléflan

    by Elina Gakou-Gomba and Marine Angé

    In a society where the couple is the rule, Marianne, Jay and Katsumi are swimming in happiness: they are getting married in a week! Suddenly, Jay breaks off his engagement. It is a blow of massacre. Marianne and Katsumi are heartbroken, but they also have good reasons to keep the wedding going - and therefore urgently need to find a replacement to love madly. What to do?

Series projects (various formats):

  • The Perfect City

    Fantasy podcast in 12 episodes of 30 minutes

    In a futuristic city threatened by the Grey Cloud, only a small number of families obtain the right, on very strict criteria, to settle in the Perfect City. There, everything is done to ensure the development and health of the future children.
    But it is becoming more and more difficult to maintain the order of things and to impose happiness. Some of them will forget themselves as individuals, blind themselves, and precipitate a chaos they had sworn to avoid...

    This series is inspired by a real place, the Ungemach city in Strasbourg, the only known eugenic city in France.

  • The adventures of EMI

    Podcast for children of 12 episodes of 5 to 10 minutes

    A child and his teddy bear visit totally incongruous planets thanks to their ultra-perfect rocket! Inspired by the marvelous universe developed in Little Nemo and its scripted structure, this series tells the story of their absurd and joyful adventures, while tackling current and very real societal issues, such as ecology, feminism and anti-racism.

  • Ends of the World, season 2

    by Marine Angé and Christophe Deleu

    10 episodes of 8 minutes

    What if someone proposed to change your life?
    Something was being created. But, for unexplained reasons, a threat is hanging over this creation that everyone was waiting for. What if you had a place in this project, but you didn't go in the right direction?

References and press review

Our audio fiction work has been noticed several times: SACD evenings; grants (Gulliver Fund for radio); broadcasting on radios (RTBF-La Première, Belgian and French radio associations) and on podcast platforms (Magneto, Canada); invitations to conferences.

  • Article in the Dernières Nouvelles d'Alsace of 23/08/2021 about the sound walk in the Albert Schweitzer Park.
  • Our podcast Ends of the world was the subject of another podcast produced by the site Syntone.
  • Ends of the world invited to a listening evening of the SACD.
  • Invitation to the symposium « Le désir de belle radio aujourd’hui/la fiction ».
  • The Studio TJP talks about Ends of the world!

Partnerships

The National Theatre School of Strasbourg collaborates with Sonya and proposes to its students in the Acting section to try their hand at audio fiction!
The participation of Sefa Yeboah (student of group 46) in the creation of the sound walk in the Albert Schweitzer Park is the first illustration of this partnership.

À propos

Qui est Sonya ?

Sonya est la première plateforme française dédiée au podcast de fiction audio.
Sonya est un studio de création et de production sonore basé à Strasbourg.

Sonya crée des contenus immersifs et colorés, avec une approche cinématographique du traitement du son et des créations musicales originales.
Sonya déploie tout un monde sonore, sensible et pluriel, dans lequel plonger et aiguiser nos imaginaires.
Sonya s’adresse aux adultes, aux adolescent.e.s et aux enfants.

Sonya regroupe des artistes et professionnel.le.s, principalement du Grand Est, œuvrant dans les domaines de la création sonore, de l'écriture, de la radio, du théâtre, des arts plastiques, de la musique, du journalisme et des cultures numériques.
Sonya s’inscrit dans une économie vivante et de proximité impulsée par des partenariats locaux et la volontée de valoriser un territoire, ses histoires et ses habitant.e.s.
Sonya parcourt l'espace public, le sonde et restitue cela lors d'évènements pour et avec le public : balades sonores, temps d'écoute, rencontres, ateliers, etc.

Pourquoi la fiction ?

Bien que le format du podcast soit en plein essor, la fiction reste un genre peu développé en France.

Sonya vise à développer le podcast de fiction audio en misant sur l’inventivité des productions, la diversité des collaborations, la volonté d’expérimentation et le renouvellement des écritures. Les enregistrements se déroulent, dès que possible, en conditions réelles et non en studio. Souvent, les productions se basent sur des faits et lieux existants pour mieux résonner avec nos imaginaires. La fiction s'inspire et se joue du réel : elle le questionne, le taquine, le bouscule, le sublime.

Les projets à venir

Voici quelques exemples des prochaines créations (liste non-exhaustive) :

Créations originales :

  • Ici autour

    Une fiction sonore d’environ 20 minutes publiée régulièrement, sous la forme d’un programme unitaire ou de mini-séries.
    L’objectif est de construire un processus de travail mettant en jeu de manière régulière les différents membres de Sonya : auteur.ice.s, comédien.ne.s, musicien.ne.s, designer.euse.s, chercheur.euse.s, réalisat.rice.eur.s, etc.
    Pensé sous la forme d’un laboratoire local et mouvant, ce programme se veut un endroit d’expérimentation collective, de recherches d’écritures nouvelles, de narration prospective, de questionnement du monde et de ses enjeux profonds.

  • Mon double maléfique

    de Cécilia Gouttes et Paul Frican

    Après un accident du travail, Louise fait la connaissance, via un site de rencontre, d’une jeune femme lui ressemblant étrangement. Petit à petit, cette personne trouble la réalité de Louise et semble prendre sa place, en “réussissant” à sa place… Louise l’accepte… jusqu’à quel point ?

  • Téléflan

    de Elina Gakou-Gomba et Marine Angé

    Dans une société où le trouple est la règle, Marianne, Jay et Katsumi nagent en plein bonheur : iels se marient dans une semaine ! Subitement, Jay rompt son engagement. C’est un coup de massue. Marianne et Katsumi en ont le cœur brisé mais ont aussi de bonnes raisons de maintenir le mariage – et donc de trouver en urgence un.e remplaçant.e, à aimer à la folie. Que faire ?

Projets de séries (formats variés) :

  • La Cité parfaite

    Série fantastique en 12 épisodes de 30 minutes

    Dans une ville futuriste menacée par le Nuage Gris, seul un petit nombre de familles obtient le droit, sur des critères très stricts, de s’installer à la Cité Parfaite. Là, tout est mis en œuvre pour assurer l’épanouissement et la santé des futurs enfants.
    Mais il devient de plus en plus difficile de maintenir l’ordre des choses et d’imposer le bonheur. Certain.e.s vont s’oublier en tant qu’individus, s’aveugler, et précipiter un chaos qu’ils s’étaient juré d’éviter…

    Cette série s’inspire d’un lieu réel, la cité Ungemach à Strasbourg, seule cité eugéniste connue en France.

  • Les aventures d’EMI

    Série pour enfants de 12 épisodes de 5 à 10 minutes

    Un enfant et son doudou visitent des planètes tout à fait incongrues grâce à leur fusée ultra-perfectionnée ! Inspirée du merveilleux univers développé dans Little Nemo et de son découpage scénaristique, cette série raconte leurs aventures absurdes et joyeuses ; tout en abordant des problématiques sociétales actuelles et bien réelles, sur le terrain de l’écologie, du féminisme ou encore de l’anti-racisme.

  • Fins du monde, saison 2

    de Marine Angé et Christophe Deleu

    10 épisodes de 8 minutes

    Et si quelqu’un vous proposait de changer de vie ?
    Quelque chose était en train de se créer. Mais, pour des raisons inexpliquées, une menace plâne sur cette création que tout le monde attendait. Et si vous aviez votre place dans ce projet, mais que vous n’aviez pas pris la bonne direction ?

Références et revue de presse

Notre travail de fiction audio a été remarqué à plusieurs reprises : soirées SACD ; obtention de bourses (Fonds Gulliver pour la radio) ; diffusion sur des radios (RTBF-La Première, Radios associatives belges et françaises) et sur des plateformes de podcast (Magneto, Canada) ; invitations à des colloques.

  • Article dans les Dernières Nouvelles d'Alsace du 23/08/2021 sur la balade sonore au Parc Albert Schweitzer
  • Notre série Fins du monde a été l’objet d’un podcast réalisé par le site Syntone.
  • Fins du monde invitée à une soirée d’écoute de la SACD.
  • Invitation au colloque « Le désir de belle radio aujourd’hui/la fiction ».
  • Le Studio TJP parle de Fins du monde !

Partenariats

L’École du Théâtre National de Strasbourg accompagne Sonya et propose à ses élèves en section Jeu de s’essayer à la fiction audio !
La participation de Sefa Yeboah (élève du groupe 46) à la création de la balade sonore au Parc Albert Schweitzer est la première illustration de cette collaboration.